Harold and the Purple Crayon

Tonight I was sitting at dinner with some friends (we’re on vacation) and being normal 18-22 year old’s we spent our time coloring before our food came. Someone had asked for a purple crayon and my old childhood favorite Harold and the Purple Crayon came into conversation. The only person that remembered the book was my brother.

I remember when our librarian, Mrs. Horn, read this book to when I was a bubbly kindergarten student.  I am almost positive I made my parents buy me this book shortly after.

I like this book as a tool in an early childhood classroom.  You could replicate what Harold does in your own classroom.  As an extension to the book you can have your students pick a crayon and color their own world.  It allows children to use creative thinking and they would have the freedom to create their very own world.

If I ever get the opportunity to teach in a Kindergarten or first grade classroom I would love to use this book as a fun activity for my students.

Posted on August 14, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment